top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeah Schreier

New Jersey + Nebraska; Spring pt 1

New Jersey:

I got to go to New Jersey! It was amazing to see family again. I got to see my grandparents, aunts, uncles, a couple cousins, and my best friend. The first week I was there, the weather was beautiful; it was sunny and warm enough (for me) to go outside and actually enjoy it. I got my grandma to go for a few walks with me so that was really nice. One of my first days there, we went to the beach! It was a bit cold but the sun was out and I did get to splash around a bit. I also collected some shells :)

My aunt and uncle took me out to dinner a couple times to their regular Friday night restaurant. My family has eaten there before when we've visited because it's so good. The restaurant is an Italian place called Federici's. I had such a great time going to dinner and getting to hang out with the two of them. After dinner we all met up at my other aunt and uncles house to spend some time together (outside of course). One of the most exciting things about being there with everyone was being added to a text stream with the east coast family.

One of the best days I had there was when we all met in Point Pleasant. We went to this seafood place that was INCREDIBLE. I got a lobster roll that was filled with a ton of lobster that was smothered in butter. I love seafood. My grandpa got lobster mac n cheese that he let me try; that was super tasty too. After we ate, we drove to the boardwalk and walked it. My Uncle Jon, Aunt Deloris, and I walked on the beach while my grandma took a break. We picked up some more shells that I definitely put back (wink wink). On our way back to the car, we got a funnel cake. Grandma just took the small pieces that fell off. A little tip for everyone reading: don't wear black and stand downwind on a windy day while eating a funnel cake.

Something that was really nice was getting to see my great aunt and uncle.

One day, my grandma let me borrow her car for the day and drive up to Poughkeepsie to meet my best friend and her mom. We had lunch at this place called the Olympic Diner. My friend, Liv, and I split apple pie pancakes and something else that I can't remember. It was so good. Then, we drove to the bridge over the Hudson and walked over it. It was so nice to see the two of them again because it had been so long. After that, I drove the almost 3 hours back to Twin Rivers.

I would also like to explain how this trip was possible. I was an online student from the beginning of the year until April 5th, when they finally offered the full in-person option. So while I was in New Jersey, I was still getting my schoolwork done during those 2 weeks. Once I got home, I had one more week of online classes before spring break.


Nebraska:

Nebraska is one of the states I dread the most. My reasoning stems from how we've had to drive through it a couple times and there is nothing around. It takes many hours of driving though emptiness. I, however, had a week off of school with nothing to do, and I have a friend who lives there. Ashton and I met on exchange and bonded over the "we're both from the US" thing. He came to visit last fall for a few days so I got to show him around and we went camping and took a day trip to Bishops Castle. This time, he got to show me around. I drove the 7 hours to Lincoln, Nebraska and spent a couple days with him. Something I noticed while driving was that the further into Nebraska you go, the windier it gets and the bigger the tumble weeds become. I wish I was joking. But now I'm very good at driving in wind!

When I got there that night, I found out that he did not tell one of his roommates that I was going to be visiting. It didn't matter too much, it was just really funny. Most of the time, we spent in the city; driving and walking around, going to different stores. He showed me the bike shop where he works and I learned that bikes are VERY expensive. That is something that is not common knowledge as a kid and it only took me 18 years to learn that. We also went to a record store and I have this deep want for a record player now so I can buy and play records (even though it would just be a really good way to waste my money since I have Spotify).

My last day there, we met some of his friends at the zoo in Omaha. Some parts of it were closed and under construction but it really is a great zoo. There was this one part of the zoo where you can walk around in an indoor enclosure that has a rainforest climate and a lot of monkeys everywhere. Unfortunately (it's probably a good thing), you can't touch the monkeys and the monkeys can't touch you. But you're still somewhat close to them and they're really cute. The seals at the zoo are very friendly and the lions don't seem to mind people very much, so they lay right in front of the windows. The best part of our day at the zoo was actually the koi pond. We were all just laughing because of how many fish there were and how we could annoy the geese by throwing food pellets and getting the koi to swarm the geese.

My last night there, some of his other friends came over and we all played Catan together. It's a strategy game and I did not win, but it was a lot of fun. The next day, Ashton and I went to this little cafe in the city before I drove home. The cafe was an Alice in Wonderland theme and it had book shelves, clocks, and cute artwork. I was in Nebraska for 3 or 4 days and at the end of it, my attitude about the dreaded state had changed. I bestowed upon Ashton quite possibly the best compliment I've ever given anyone. I said, "you made Nebraska interesting," a task I thought was impossible.


Upcoming + Other:

I graduated! In my next post (coming out tomorrow), I will talk about the ceremony and the end of school. I'll also discuss my summer plans and everything I want to do.

I would like to announce that I got my Covid vaccine! I got the J&J at the beginning of April. Within a few hours of getting it, I felt like I was dying (I've never had the flu but I'm assuming that's what it felt like) and the symptoms lasted 24 hours. However, 2 weeks after that, I was safe! I'm still healthy and have yet to get Covid. Everyone in my immediate family is either fully or half vaccinated, so we're doing well here. If you haven't got your vaccine yet, you really should! Keep yourself and everyone around you safe.

Amelia is now officially a teenager! It's hard to believe... that she wasn't a teenager already.


Gallery:

The first group of photos here is from my trip to New Jersey. I have pictures with various family members and then my friend, Liv. Also pictured is Kitty, my grandparents' very large cat.

The second group of photos is from my trip to Nebraska and then one of Amelia and me on her birthday. Most of the Nebraska photos are from the zoo, but there are a couple from Lincoln. One was taken from a parking garage and the other was the cafe.



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page